Friday, January 31, 2014

Stimulated Brillouin Scattering (SBS)

Observation of pulse delaying and advancement in optical fibers using stimulated Brillouin scattering (SBS)

http://infoscience.epfl.ch/record/128307/files/OpticsExpress_13_82_2005.pdf


Thursday, January 23, 2014

Steuerungsschrank


“Steuerungsschrank” in German isn’t “control cabinet” in English, it’s “panel”.

For more control engineering terms, go to >>

Wednesday, January 22, 2014

Blech

“Blech” in German isn’t “sheet” or “metal sheet” in English, it’s “panel”.

For more mechanical terms, go to >>

Tuesday, January 21, 2014

Monday, January 20, 2014

Klimaschrank


Klimaschrank (Deutsch) - climatic chamber (English)

For more electronics terms, go to >>

Sunday, January 19, 2014

Anpassbuchse

#Fittings Anpassbuchse (Deutsch) - adapter bushing (English)


Friday, January 17, 2014

Messaufbau

“Messaufbau” in German isn’t “Measurement setup” in English, it’s “Mock-up” or “Test setup”, etc.

For more technical terms, go to >>

Bandschlüssel

#Schlosser #fitter Bandschlüssel (Deutsch) - oil filter wrench, mult-purpose grip wrench, strap wrench (English)


Thursday, January 16, 2014

Nahnebensprechdämpfung


#Kommunikationstechnik #ICT Nahnebensprechdämpfung (Deutsch) - local crosstalk attenuation (English)


chirp


#Electronics A chirp is a signal in which the frequency increases or decreases with time.

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Strommesswiderstand

#Electronics “Strommesswiderstand” in German isn’t “current-measuring resistor” in English: it’s “current-sensing resistor”

For more electronics terms, go to >>

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Entfernungsmessung

#Radar “Entfernungsmessung” in German is “ranging” in English, and not “distance measurement”.

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Stromlaufplan

#Elektrotechnik Stromlaufplan (Deutsch) - schematic diagram, circuit diagram, wiring diagram, circuit (English)



Wednesday, January 08, 2014

Bock


Bock (Deutsch) - trestle, bearer, frame, upright,
support, bracket, horse (English)
More truck parts terms >>

Monday, January 06, 2014

ragend

#mechanicalengineering ragend (Deutsch) - protruding (English)
More mechanical engineering terms >>



Sunday, January 05, 2014

Drahtkneuel

#Welding #Schweißtechnik Drahtkneuel / Vogelnest (Deutsch) - bird nesting (English)
This refers to a phenomenon in welding.
Example: Welding wire "bird nesting" occurs in the drive rolls of a wire feeder.
More welding terms >>

Saturday, January 04, 2014

Anpasselement

Anpasselement (Deutsch) - adaptor (English)
A device for connecting two parts, especially ones of different sizes or with different mating fitments.
 
Visit my Homepage